Five Meghalaya Congress MLAs denied ticket

Shillong, Jan 8 : The Congress has denied tickets to its five legislators in Meghalaya, including a minister, to contest the upcoming Assembly elections. The party has released the list of its candidates for the 60-member House.

The Congress, which has 28 members in the Assembly, has declined to again field SW Rymbai, Adbus Saleh, Samuel Sangma, Nehlang Lyngdoh and Community and Rural Development Minister Saleng Sangma.

The list of 60 party candidates for the Meghalaya Assembly polls was released late Sunday night after consultations with party chief Sonia Gandhi.

However, the Congress has allotted party tickets to five legislators from other parties, including Independent legislators Manas Chaudhuri, AT Mondal and Limison D Sangma.

Hill State People's Democratic Party leader Adviser Pariong and Nationalist Congress Party leader Adolf Lu Hitler R Marak have been also given the Congress tickets.

The six women candidates fielded by the party are - M. Ampareen Lyngdoh, Roshan Warjri, Deborah C. Marak, Eureka Lyngdoh, Dikkanchi D Shira and Arlene N Sangma.

Prominent faces given tickets are - Assembly Speaker Charles Pyngrope, Deputy Chief Minister Rowell Lyngdoh, Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh, Forest and Environment Minister Prestone Tynsong, Revenue Minister RC Laloo, Public Health Engineering Minister Shitlang Pale and Water Resources Minister AL Hek.

The term of Meghalaya Assembly will end on March 10 this year. The State has over 13 lakh voters.